Smart Gray Matter

Digital Marketing Solutions

KillSwitch ~ Death of The Internet

My perspiration forces me to acknowledge the heat wave we’ve been experiencing in the mid-west the past few weeks.  Each minute in the sun allows me to bake my skin to golden perfection.  Nights are filled with raucous laughter and the fun loving melodies of live bands.  They cater to the joyous, they serve the entertainment demographic with exceptional skill.

If one were to simply observe all the action they couldn’t possibly soak in every detail.  Each vibrant guest offering a wealth of information surrounding their lifestyle and social circles.  Yes sir/madam, the city is alive and everyone we meet produces a euphoric feeling of kinship.  Welcome to summer in the mid-west.  All winter, we hibernate, braving each snow storm, and furious blizzard, all the while hoping in our heart of hearts that winter will be over soon.

After the last snowflake has fallen, and the final ice crystal has melted away it becomes our time to celebrate our humanity, our life, our journey…..

While we are on the subject of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness let’s discuss a crucial part of our daily lives, and our interaction with the outside world.  One saving grace for people all over the globe is the internet.  Where would we be without instantaneous access to any piece of information available?  How would we continue to exist without our SM streams we’ve all come to know and love so dearly.

Think about it, what would happen to your personal life, let alone your profession should you suddenly, involuntarily become disconnected from your social online community?  I’ll tell you what would happen to me.  First, I’m sure I would take it in stride.  I mean, I’ve lived without these online applications before right?  Why would I need software to stay in touch with my friends, family and business contacts?

Next, I’m almost certain anxiety would set in.  It would begin as a gradual path to insanity.  After a few weeks, I’m sure the feeling of loss would be nearly overwhelming!  This may be sad, however, I can’t make it an entire day without using the web for something.  Research for a client, a proposal draft, or perhaps presentation creation.  Needless to say, I would be a hobbled race horse without instant, constant, unimpeded entry to the most prestigious network of technology in the world to date.

Why share your addiction with us Steven?  It is puzzling that I would approach this subject knowing that most of us have already contemplated it at some point.  In fact, there are certain life coaches that encourage us to unplug every so often right?  Please allow me the opportunity to elaborate.

Right now, as we speak, our government is attempting to ram rod “bi-partisan” legislation that will give our presidential office the power to pull the plug.  What?!  Say that again?  You heard me correctly, our very near future online may be dictated by the US government……Please digest what I’ve just said.

http://cbs4.com/technology/internet.freedom.regulation.2.1774665.html

Having visited the site above, you will see that the Kill Switch was just approved by the Senate Committee.  Let’s establish one point real quick.  This is dictation of information.  If we work through a scenario, where it would become “necessary” to dismantle the major ISPs I sincerely believe that it would be a situation in which we would desperately need access to information.  Not just as a country, but as individuals.

In essence, we would become the terrorists by assuming that we have the right to choose when people can communicate with each other.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand the counter argument, it just seems as if we would be shooting ourselves in the foot.

This is where we tie it all together.  Think about what your life would be like tomorrow should you be disconnected from your Twitter client.  I’ll wager that many of you communicate with your clients and business contacts solely using the Twitter API.  Would it cause any problems for you?  How about your personal contacts?  What would you do if you weren’t able to email that picture to grandma, or send mom an email letting her know when your plane will be landing.

A world without the internet is a dreadfully dreary prospect at best.  We would be willingly be shutting down e-commerce which we desperately need to encourage by the way.  In my opinion, this is how the international economy will recover.  Instead of being concerned about the transmission of information, we should be concerned about any road blocks.  Including, but not limited to our physical network currently.  Shame on the US government for not affording every citizen in the US a broadband internet connection, but I digress.

Finally, I’ll allow each of you to deliberate, and respond appropriately.  I would love to see some feedback on this blog post.  Are we going to sit down, and accept decrees handed out by what quickly seems to be approaching a tyrannical government?

I wish each and every one of you the best.  God save the Queen.  >,<

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2010 by in Uncategorized.

Make $ While You Tweet

SponsoredTweets referral badge

Check it out! Just leave your email, and you'll be updated every time it is updated.

Join 2 other followers

Hire Me

SponsoredTweets hire me badge

Tweet Till Tuesday

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

